//
you're reading...
COMELEC News

Chairman Melo bows from COMELEC

Commission on Elections (COMELEC) Chairman Jose A. R. Melo has advanced the effectivity of his resignation from January 31, 2011 to January 15, 2011.

In a letter to President Benigno C. Aquino III dated January 14, 2011, Melo said “should it be the desire of the President to have my successor immediately assume office in an ad interim capacity, and having been informed of such desire, I hereby advance the effectivity of my resignation…”

November 22 last year, Melo wrote the President:

“It has been my singular honor and privilege to have served our country for the last 48 years, the last 3 of which have been with the Commission on Elections, where I and my colleagues in the Commission dedicated ourselves to giving the nation its first nationwide automated elections.”

“I still have four years to go in my term, but I believe it is time to move on. Indeed, I signed up for this job, as I had previously intimated to Your Excellency, with the sole intention of giving our people credible elections and an unchallenged President. I believe we accomplished both.” ###

About comelec-eid

The COMELEC is the sole government agency Constitutionally charged with the implementation of all election laws and the administration of all elections, plebiscites, referenda, and recalls.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

